Places

Hamilton Island – Day 1 

Hello everyone! It’s good to be back!

If you have absolutely no idea what I am talking about, just let me tell you a little bit about my holiday…

So I’ve recently been to Hamilton Island for 9 days with my family and I really wanted to share my holiday with you guys so I am blogging about it each day (Saturday, Sunday, Wednesday). Hamilton Island is in Queensland, Australia just off the coast of Mackay. It is part of the Whitsunday Islands which are very famous. If you would like to have a more detailed look at it, you can do a quick google or…continue reading this! ☺️

Anyway, let’s talk about what I did on this holiday. 

We flew with Qantas for both flights (there and back) which is awesome because we normally go with Jetstar but this time we went with QANTAS! Qantas is really good, you have comfy seats, lots of room, touchscreen TV’s on the back of the seats! I know right, COOL! Our flight went to Sydney first (with a break in-between) and then Hamilton Island. 

We had to get up at 3:45am to make sure we got to our flight on time at 6:30am. It seems way too early but really, time goes faster than you think. We left home at 4:15am and drove to the airport. For the extra few hours we were at the airport, we went to the Qantas Club for a bit of breakfast and just to chill for a while. We boarded our plane and headed to Sydney.

We arrived in Sydney at about lunch time so we just snacked because we knew we would get lunch on our next plane to HAMILTON ISLAND!!! Yayayayayyayyayayy! On the plane for lunch, I got a Gluten Free chicken toasted sandwich. It was really yummy. Most of you probably don’t know that I have coeliac disease which means I can’t have ANY gluten. 😢 Yeh. It sucks. Especially eating out. 😭


These were the picture I took from the plane. These are the Whitsunday Islands. 🐠🌴

So at about 2:00pm we landed in The Great Barrier Reef airport in Hamilton island and boy is it hot! I think it was 28 or something but a 28 is not a 28 here, it is probably more like a 32 from the humidity! ☀️ That’s why you should always be saturated in sun cream kids! We drove to our airport in not just any car…we drove in a buggy! Yep! Everyone on the island had a buggy. Cars were pretty rare. 


This is our E-ZGO buggy. It went 20kmp/h maximum and was quite slow up hills. Hamilton island is very hilly. 

We got to our apartment Oasis 23 and it had amazing views like OMGOODNESS IS THIS REAL?!!? type of views. In my bedroom I had my own bathroom and a massive Samsung TV (and my parents got a tiny one!!). 


The top picture is of our living room and balcony. Can you see the view?! You’ll be able to see a better pic in my second post. The second row of pictures is our apartment from different views. We had a little pool overlooking amazing Dent island. The bottom middle picture was mum and dads room and there was a very cool spa bath which I was very excited to use! The bottom right pic was my room. It was really nice. 

We headed down to the Catseye Beach Pool for a swim to cool down (I reckon!) and some icy drinks from the Bougainvillea Bar (is that how you spell it?). 

This was the Catseye beach Pool. It was so cool and even had a bar! 

At about 5:00pm we left to go home and get ready for our dinner. I wore my black and white stripy jumpsuit which is new. We went to a place called ‘Manta Ray’ and they catered for people with coeliac (like me) which is very rare to find. I ordered a hawian pizza and some lemon lime bitters. 


It was massive! Don’t worry, I didn’t waste it. I took the rest home and had it for lunch the next day. It was honestly the BEST pizza I’ve ever had! Normally gluten free pizzas are thin and hard but this one was exactly like a gluten one! Soft, crispy on the edges and delicious. I recommend anyone gluten free to try it! It’s so good. I loved it sooooooo much. Woah. I just wrote a while paragraph on pizza…

After we were all full to the brim, we headed back to our apartment on our trusty little E-ZGO buggy. I had a bubble bath in the spa bath we had! Ahhh it was to die for. (I love baths By the way! That’s why I have a whole category dedicated to LUSH on my blog!) I got ready for bed and then wanted a bit of X Factor before going to sleep in my double bed.

I hope you all enjoyed my first holiday post and that you got a little idea of what Hamilton island is like. I will hopefully be posting my second day on Saturday so if you would like to see more, be sure to come back again and have a little read.

Have a lovely day, byeeeeeee

Ellie xo

Leave a Reply

