Food, Gluten Free, recipes

The BEST Lemon and Coconut Cupcakes (GF)

Hey guys,

Sorry this post is a day late…

Well, today I wanted to share this amazing lemon and coconut cupcake recipe. My friend is having an Alice and Wonderland tea party today and I wanted to bring something along. If you didn’t already know, I have coeliac disease and that means I can’t have ANY gluten. So all of my recipes are gluten free. But don’t worry, it tastes exactly the same. Even my friends think so! You can make this not gluten free if you want to, just change the flour.


For the cupcakes, you will need

  • 200g raw sugar
  • 1 1/2 lemons, zest and juice only
  • 170g butter softened
  • 4 eggs
  • 50g full cream milk
  • 250g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder

For the Buttercream Icing, you will need

  • 400g pure icing sugar
  • 150g butter softened
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 40g full cream milk
  • Yellow food colouring

For decorations, you will need

  • Desiccated coconut to sprinkle
  • Edible flowers
  • Sugar pearls or beads
  • Lemon

Method

Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 170 degrees celcious. (Did I spell that right?? I can’t find the degrees symbol!!) Line the cupcake trays with patty pans. I had a big tray and a mini tray. 

Place sugar and lemon zest and juice into mixing bowl and mix until combined. It should form a runny paste. 

Add all the remaining ingredients and mix until there are no lumps and it is smooth.

Spoon into patty pans and put in the oven, 8mins for big ones and 5 for little ones. Check with a skewer when you take them out. If it is still not cooked through put t in the oven for another 2mins. 

Buttercream Icing

Add all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix until all combined.

Spoon into a piping bag and pipe onto cooled cupcakes (you wouldn’t want it to melt all over the cupcakes!!!!)

Decorate with lemon slices, edible icing flowers and sprinkles. 




HANG ON, hang on. The post isn’t over! 

And ze best part about cooking is eating the remains of the mixtures!!! It’s basically why I cook! (Jk)


Ok, now the post is over. 

ThankYOU so so much for reading this post! I hope you enjoyed reading and are now happy that you have finally found the best lemon cupcakes. 

Feel free to have a look at some of my other recipes like Spicy Nachos, Gingerbread Truffles and Rocky Road Icecream. If you like the sound of my blog (even though it doesn’t play music) it would be lovley of you to follow me. My goal is to get to 100 followers by March. ThankYOU for helping me! It’ll be worth it…I hope…jk

ThankYOOOOOOOO, byeeeeeeeeeeee

Ellie xo

4 thoughts on “The BEST Lemon and Coconut Cupcakes (GF)”

  1. Your cupcakes look like they are straight from Wonderland! My daughter has gluten tolerance issues, and she danced the part of Alice last year in her dance troupe’s production of Alice in Wonderland. She would love them 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

